Political Directorate

The Political Directorate consists of forty Councillors who are elected to office once every three (3) years through Local Government Elections held under Universal Adult Suffrage. A Mayor and a Deputy Mayor are chosen from the elected Councillors; the Mayor heads the Political Directorate. The political party having the majority of elected members of the Council has the right to select (from their numbers) the person to be Mayor. The KSAC operates through a system of committees. These committees are responsible for policy formulation on matters ranging from Finance to Discipline. A chairperson heads each committee. A General Purpose Committee consisting of the chairpersons of all committees forms the equivalent of a Cabinet of the Council.